Skip to content

40 in 50: Healthy Power Balls

50Projects

I made this recipe the other day, mostly because I like the thought of having healthy, small snacks around the house to grab when we’re on the go.

They were gross.

This is what they should have looked like:

Appetizing enough, right?

I felt like I was eating rabbit food. I think Ian’s exact words were, “they need more sugar”. (I didn’t have the heart to tell him that there wasn’t any sugar to begin with).

Moral of the story: If you’re going to make a healthy treat, be prepared for it to taste like crap.

It is so frustrating to have something not turn out the way you were anticipating after you put so much time and energy into it. Whether it’s cooking, sewing, or a project around the house, it’s a huge letdown when you feel like all that you put into it has gone to waste (especially when it’s cute fabric or an expensive ingredient you’ll never use again).

I recently came across a quote on Pinterest and decided to make a print out of it to hang in my craft room:

Can I get an amen?

At least I can say I tried. I’ve learned my lesson, and Ian and I both got a good laugh out of how horrible they were.

Yes, it’s discouraging, but it doesn’t mean I’m going to give up.

Bad sign that my first 2 of the 40 projects have been a bust?

Nah, I’ll keep plugging away.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. This is too funny Linds! So true, you tried and accomplished, that’s what matters :) You should keep going back to the original post of things to complete and cross them off once you’ve done them, and put the date completed and link to the post you did about it! I saw a girl do that on her pre-baby bucket list and it was a really cute way to track and follow along! Love what you are doing :)

    February 16, 2012
    • Good idea, Col! I will start that from now on, I have to see if I can remember the dates I completely the previous projects :)

      February 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers

