Skip to content

40 in 50: Organize my Craft Room

We woke up to 6 inches of snow this morning, and when that happens in Oregon, the world seems to stop. It was my day off anyways, but I cannot even begin to describe how much I’ve gotten done, and how nice its been to have nowhere to go (not like I really could’ve even if I’d needed to).

We were supposed to get our carpets cleaned at 10am, but the guy called and cancelled because he was snowed in (remember how I said the whole world seems to stop?). So I’ve literally had an entire day to clean, cook, get organized, and relaxxxxx.

And it’s only 2:30!

Luckily, the dog has been asleep since 10- hopefully we don’t pay for it later!

Anyway…given the weather and the fact that I’m cooped up in the house, I had a chance to finally organize my craft room and get it just the way I want it…nearly a year after we moved in.

Better late than never, right?

Here are the before pictures. Bear in mind that this was right after we’d moved in:

What a mess! But I do love the afternoon light that floods this room.

Here it is now…

LOVE Ikea. Honestly, | this | cheap-o bookshelf is one of the greatest and holds so much stuff.

I turned an old shutter on its side to add a little texture to the room and introduce a new shade of blue without actually having to paint.

The ‘be thankful’ sign is just glitter chipboard letters that I attached to some gray bakers twine with mini clothespins. I made it around Thanksgiving time for the mantle, but moved it into the craft room. Don’t we all need to be reminded of this more often?

This $10 flea market quilt adds just the right amount of orange to the room, which I really like.

And this is where I do 99.9% of my projects. I love this little corner.

The white table was my grandpa’s drafting table, he had it built in to his house, so I bought the legs for this one at Ikea (Ikea no longer makes them), they’re adjustable so that the table can be at an angle. I also love that it’s a huge surface, so I can have more than one project going on at once.

The framed wreath came from | Hil | and it fits perfectly in this room.

The picture of Ian is my favorite. I will be so grateful if our kids are half as cute as that.

This is my carry-all. If I’m in the middle of something, I stick it up there so I can look at it for a few days and decide if I really like it or not.

Those 3 adorable boys are my nephews who live on Kauai. They’re getting a little brother or sister tomorrow!

And a few more photos…

1. A random assortment of pillows I’ve made. Chevron, ruffle, and antique flour sack, those coordinate. Right?

2. A place for everything and everything in its place.

| big boxes for fabric scraps |comic book boards (no really), to wrap longer pieces of fabric around | my mom’s old sewing basket |

3. Embellishments (of which I have way too many).

4. A handful of my favorite books. Some left over from studying Interior Design, others that I just like and often reference.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to get back to my Justin Bieber Pandora station and work on projects for a baby shower I’m co-hosting this weekend.

It will be a miracle if I get out of my sweats today…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 505 other followers

