Skip to content

2 Years…

Today marks Ian and I’s second wedding anniversary, and to say the past 2 years have gone by quickly is an understatement, I think I blinked and it was over.

729 days of marriage, and the best is yet to come.

On Saturday I attended a bridal shower where we all had to go around and give 1 piece of marriage advice for the soon-to-be-bride, and these were a few of my favorites:

- 1 -

Compliment each other every day.
In our day-to-day lives it’s so easy to get caught up and become comfortable with the one you’re with, but a simple compliment goes a long way.

- 2 -

Have fun.
There is usually humor in every situation. Make the most of what God has given you and learn to laugh with one another.

- 3 -

This is God’s best for you.
When times are hard and you don’t feel like loving your spouse, Remember that this is God’s best for you. Our Father doesn’t make mistakes, He knew long ago that this was the one for you, and that you two were meant to be together.

- 4 -

Always look for ways to serve one another.
When you hate each other and serving one another is the last thing you want to do, it should probably be the first thing you do. Now that you’re married, you get to serve one another. It’s a joy! Treat it as one and look for little ways to serve one another.

What is your 1 piece of marriage advice you’d give a bride-to-be? I’d love to hear it!

And Bubba, happy 2 year anniversary! I know, without a doubt, that although the past 2 years have been incredible, the best is yet to come.
L.I.F.E

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lee #

    Happy anniversary! (I just clicked over from Her New Leaf!) Even though I’ve only been married for two years, as well, I would advise a bride-to-be to pray for her husband often. :)

    (P.S. Love your cute blog!)

    July 17, 2012
  2. Try to be the first to apologize…Even if you’re 89% sure the whole thing is his fault. If I can think of one thing for which to apologize like, “I’m sorry for talking to you that way…” It humbles me enough to stop stewing and start working toward resolution. It’s also become a cue to him that I am in a suitable state for receiving an apology and forgiving him without rubbing it in his face.

    July 24, 2012
  3. LOVE these marital tips! mine:

    remember that God is enough and you don’t need to “fix” your spouse. Instead focus on allowing God to “fix” you :-)

    July 28, 2012
    • I LOVE that! I’m reminded of Matthew 7:5…the Message version says “that critical spirit has a way of boomeranging”.

      July 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 507 other followers

